Contrast version
russian paralympic committee
Personal area

Women's National Sitting Volleyball Team of Russia for the first time won the title of world champion

20 July 2018

In the Netherlands, the World Sitting Volleyball Championship was finished, held by World ParaVolley.

The Russian women's team won gold medals and a title of world champion. In the final meeting, the team led by the head coach of the national team Alexander Ovsyannikov defeated the team from the United States with a score of 3-1 (18-25, 27-25, 26-24, 26-24).

The members of the Russian team:

The captain of the team - Tatiana Ivanova (Moscow)

Irina Smirnova (Moscow)

Yulia Mednikova (Moscow)

Irina Panina (Moscow)

Lyubov Permyakova (Moscow)

Ekaterina Okorokova (Moscow)

Alena Dmitrieva (Republic of Sakha (Yakutia))

Elizaveta Kunstman (Moscow)

Olga Arbatskaya (Moscow)

Anna Godovitsyna (Moscow)

Yana Gritsenko (Moscow)

Svetlana Churakova (Moscow)


According to the Qualification guide of the International Paralympic Committee for the 16th Paralympic Summer Games in 2020 in Tokyo (Japan), teams that won the first two places at the 2018 World Championships receive a quota for participation in the Paralympic Games of 2020. The World ParaVolley will notify the National Paralympic Committees on the allocation of quotas for participation in the Tokyo-2020 on March 24, 2020.

The Russian Paralympic Committee congratulates the Russian National Sitting Volleyball Team on winning the first place at the World Cup!


Press Service of the Russian Paralympic Committee

+7 (499) 922 11 90
101000, Moscow, Turgenevskaya sq., 2