Contrast version
russian paralympic committee
Personal area

Vladimir Lukin and Pavel Rozkhov, Ekaterina Rumyantseva and Alexey Bugaev arrived in Rome, Italy to participate at the International Giuseppe Sciacca Award Ceremony.

26 October 2018

Vladimir Lukin President of the Russian Paralympic Committee, Chairman of the Executive Committee, First Vice President Pavel Rozkhov and Russian Paralympic athletes in Nordic and Alpine Skiing for persons with physical impairments - three-time champion and two-time silver medalist of the XII Winter Paralympic Games 2018 in Pyeongchang, Korea Ekaterina Rumyantcheva and Alexey Bugaev - champion and silver medal winner of the Paralympic Games 2018 (Alpine Skiing- for persons with physical impairment) - arrived in Rome (Italy) today, to attend the International Giuseppe Sciacca Award Ceremony.

The Russian Paralympic Committee will receive a special jury award and the Russian Paralympians will be awarded with prizes in the «Sport» category.

The Award Ceremony will take place on October 27, 2018 at 17: 00 (5 pm) at the Pontifical Urban University of Rome, Italy. The main purpose of the Giuseppe Sciacca Award is to draw public attention to outstanding and prominent members of our society.

The International Giuseppe Sciacca Award created in 2001 to commemorate a young Italian architecture student, who died prematurely in 1986 following an accident when his parachute failed to open during celebrations in honor of the Blessed Virgin of Divine Love in Rome, and known for his sporting activities and social concern. During his short life, he managed to leave a deep trace in the memory of many young people due to his commitment to high spiritual values and human generosity.

The Giuseppe Sciacca Award is supported by the Presidium of the Council of Ministers, the Senate, the Chamber of Deputies of Italy; the European Parliament and the European Commission, ministries in the field of art, sports, cultural heritage, education, foreign affairs, the Italian Olympic Committee, the Cyprus Olympic Committee, charitable foundations, academic community from various countries of the world.

Prizes for young professionals awarded in 10 (ten) categories:

∙ Communication, journalism, film and theater

∙ Sport and art

∙ Design, graphics, photography and music

∙ Culture of peace, protection of minors

∙ Peace between nations

∙ Non-fiction, fiction poetry

∙ Legal and historical sciences

∙ Economics, research and development;

∙ Young entrepreneurs;

∙ Social and voluntary activities.

The prize was awarded to other prominent representatives of Russian Federation such as ; for great achievements in the field of culture and art President of the Russian Academy of Arts, People's Artist of the USSR and the Russian Federation, UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador Zurab Tsereteli in 2011, synchronist Anisia Neborako in 2014; for educational activities Viktor Ivanov, Director of the Federal Drug Control Service of the Russian Federation (2008-2016) in 2015; Opera singer Julia Lezhneva in 2016; Professor Yuri Kiyko in the category “Medicine, ophthalmologist” in 2017.

Press Services of the Russian Paralympic Committee

+7 (499) 922 11 90
101000, Moscow, Turgenevskaya sq., 2