Contrast version
russian paralympic committee
Personal area


14 September 2018

The honorary vice president of RPC Lev Seleznev in Izhevsk (Udmurt Republic) participated in the awards and closing ceremony of the All-Russian Sledge Hockey Tournament dedicated to the memory of Viktor Kuznetsov.

The competitions were held on the ice of the sports complex “Olimpiets” and 4 teams took part in them – “Yugra” (KhMAO-Ugra, champion of Russia of the 2017-2018 season), “Yastreby” (Orenburg Region), “Phoenix” (Moscow City team) and “Udmurtia” (Udmurt Republic).
The “Ugra” team became the winner of the tournament, defeating at the final match the Moscow team with a score 6-0.

In the struggle for the third place, the hosts of tournament, the Udmurtian team defeated 1-0 (in shootouts) of the Orenburg team “Yastreby”.

Natalia Goltsova, Minister of Physical Culture and Sports of the Republic of Udmurtia, giving a speech in the awards ceremony, she noted that the tournament is scheduled to be held regularly and all teams are invited to the next tournament.

The tournament is dedicated to the memory of Viktor Nikolaevich Kuznetsov, a master of sports of international class, chairman of the regional office of the Russian Paralympic Committee in the Udmurt Republic, honorary coach of Russia and Udmurtia. Under his leadership in the Udmurt Republic was created one of the first domestic sledge hockey teams, later he became a two-times champion of Russia. The team's players are part of the Russian national sledge hockey team, making a great contribution to the silver medals of the Paralympic Winter Games 2014 in Sochi. Viktor Nikolaevich from 1991 until his untimely departure from life in 2017 was engaged in the development of Paralympic sports in the Republic.

The tournament is the third of four sledge hockey tournaments held at the beginning of the season in different regions of Russia. Similar tournaments have already been held in Orenburg - "Challenge Cup, forward on the ice!" and in Moscow - Open Hockey Cup: "Cup of Courage". Also, a Sledge Hockey Tournament will take place in Khanty-Mansiysk.

For the first time in the Russian Federation, sledge hockey appeared in 2009. In the same year, the first Russian ice hockey championship was held in Podolsk (Moscow region) in the small ice arena "Vityaz".

To date, Sledge Hockey has been developing in 8 regions of the Russian Federation: Moscow, Moscow Region, Khanty-Mansi Autonomous District, Republic of Bashkortostan, Udmurt Republic, Orenburg Region, St. Petersburg, Chelyabinsk Region.

For the clubs in the Russian Federation, the Russian Championship is held in two stages, as well as All-Russian competitions in Moscow, Khanty-Mansiysk, Izhevsk and Orenburg.

Currently, the basic teams for the national team are “Yugra” (Khanty-Mansiysk Autonomous District), “Phoenix” (Moscow region), “Udmurtia” (Udmurt Republic).

Due to its perseverance and courage in 2014, at the Paralympic Winter Games (Sochi) he Russian sledge hockey players won silver medals, at the World Championship 2015 in the US won the third place, and in 2016 at the European Championships in Sweden won the first.

With the use of materials of the Ministry of Physical Culture sports and youth policy of the Udmurt Republic:


Press Service of RPC

+7 (499) 922 11 90
101000, Moscow, Turgenevskaya sq., 2