Contrast version
russian paralympic committee
Personal area

For the first time in Moscow there will be an Open Para Ice Hockey Tournament "Cup of Courage"

15 August 2018

In order to develop and popularize Paralympic Sports in Moscow and the Russian Federation, the Moscow Regional Public Organization "Federation of Sports of Persons with Physical Impairments" together with the Department of Sports and Tourism of Moscow and the Russian Paralympic Committee for the first time hold an Open Hockey-Sled Cup with a name symbolic "Cup of Courage ".

August 22, 2018 at 13:00 on the ice arena of the Sports Palace "Yantar" (Moscow, Marshal Katukov Str. 22) will be the Gala opening ceremony of the Open Hockey Cup " Cup of Courage " with participation of the Olympic champions, legends a national hockey, show-business stars and actors of the tv-series "Molodezhka". At 12:00 - the gathering of guests, which is waiting for an exciting program: Master classes "TRY FORCE ...", WINNING PRIZES and much more.

About 200 persons will take part in the Cup of Courage, among them representatives of club teams from 4 regions of the Russian Federation - the strongest teams "Phoenix" (Moscow region) - 5-times champions of Russia, "Moscow" – 3-times bronze medalists of Russian championships, “Hawks”(Orenburg region).

Among members of the teams are the best hockey players of Russia and of the world, who are the silver prize-winners of the Paralympic Games, 2-times bronze medalists of the world championships, champions of Europe.

Partners of the tournament: the charitable foundation "Heritage", the ice palace "Vityaz", the company "Nestle", the Russian Hockey Federation, the Continental Hockey League.

Within the framework of the tournament, the promotional action "Unified by Hockey" is held, which has already been supported by the 3-time Olympic hockey champion, President of the Russian Hockey Federation Vladislav Tretyak, singer Valeria, Russian music producer Iosif Prigozhin, singer Diana Gurtskaya, actor of the series "Molodezhka" Vlad Kanopka, 13-times champion of the Paralympic Games in Athletics Rima Batalov and others.

The site of the tournament:

For the first time in the Russian Federation, Para Ice Hockey appeared in 2009. In the same year, the first Russian Para Ice Hockey championship was held in Podolsk (Moscow region) in the small ice arena "Vityaz".

Today, para Ice Hockey is developed in 7 regions of the Russian Federation: Moscow, Moscow Region, Khanty-Mansi Autonomous District, Republic of Bashkortostan, Udmurt Republic, Orenburg Region, St. Petersburg.

For the clubs in the Russian Federation, the Russian Championship is held, consisting of two stages, as well as All-Russian competitions in Moscow, Khanty-Mansiysk, Izhevsk and Orenburg.

Currently, the basic teams for the national team are the Feniks Team (Moscow region), the Udmurtia Team (Udmurtskaya Republik), the Yugra Team (Khanty-Mansiysk Autonomous District).

Due to its perseverance and courage, in 2014, at the XI Paralympic Winter Games (Sochi), Russian Para Ice Hockey players won silver medals, at the World Championship 2015 in the US - the third place, and in 2016 at the European Championships in Sweden gained a victory.


Press Service of the Russian Paralympic Committee

+7 (499) 922 11 90
101000, Moscow, Turgenevskaya sq., 2